Review: Kannagi, Volume 2

Kannagi, Volume 2
Kannagi, Volume 2 by Eri Takenashi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve read my fair share of manga in the past and while I’ve heard of the title Kannagi from the anime adaptation, I’ll admit this is the first time I’ve ever read the manga. The overarching story revolves around a high school boy named Jin who frees Nagi, a goddess who’s released after her tree is chopped down on holy ground. This volume in the series focuses more on Nagi’s spirit sister Zange, who has possessed a human body and actively competes against Nagi for Jin’s affections. The two dish it out on a number of occasions (including a very funny incident where Zange reveals Nagi’s underlying fear). Jin tries to play peacemaker, but ultimately fails despite his good intentions. A few other plot details are revealed in this volume, but for the most part, Takenashi-san seems to progressively develop and have fun with the characters here, including playing upon familiar manga/anime themes such as a cooking contest, and magical girl and maid parodies. It’s entertaining for those who don’t mind the familiar, but I’ll admit this volume (being my first read of the series) didn’t really pull me into the story for major plot details or twists. I enjoyed it though, and I do like the artwork of the manga. I’m interested to see where this ultimately goes in the sense of seeing the characterizations develop and how Nagi will manage to not only keep her sister spirit in check, but also come to terms with her weakened goddess power.

Overall score: 3.5/5

Note: I recieved this as an ARC from NetGalley from the publisher Bandai Entertainment.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

