Kitty and the Midnight Hour
Kitty and the Midnight Hour by Carrie Vaughn
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ll admit that “Kitty and the Midnight Hour” took me by complete surprise in terms of how much I enjoyed it. I usually dabble in reading adult urban fantasy series, and while I’ve been weary of quite a few stories that have been centered around vampires, warewolves, among other commonly used creatures in the genre – this manages to bring them together in a fun way, particularly one that had me laughing in several considerations.

Kitty Norville takes on the task of hosting a late night, call-in radio show designed to take music requests (90s or later). But Kitty doesn’t expect to get a phone call asking for advice on how to deal with a paranormal lifestyle. She offers advice in the best way she can (though she’s not apt to reveal that she, herself, is a warewolf), and discovers that her “advice” has far more mileage than she thought, eventually gaining her own syndicated radio show. This causes more problems than one for Kitty, not only gaining her a massive fanbase, but also putting her at odds with her clan. Not to mention her gaining a few enemies who are more than happy to kill her. It’s a bit cliche and predictable in some areas, but manages to be entertaining. It held my attention the entire time that I listened to the audiobook.

I think the person who made this novel for me was Kitty herself, because she’s a feisty, assertive character. She’s quite funny, full of humor which I think many adult paranormal fans will appreciate. As far as the larger story, it’s decent in its development and pacing, with a fair share of harrowing moments.

I definitely want to check into the larger series beyond this to see how it develops, but on the whole, it was one of the better starts to an urban fantasy series with an interesting concept to its credit.

Overall score: 3/5

View all my reviews

