Blackout
Blackout by Mira Grant
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Initial reaction: Oh my word. This was brilliant. I think I have a new favorite trilogy to add to my list.

***

Full review:

I don’t know if I can describe the experience of Mira Grant’s “Blackout” in a succinct enough capacity to share how awesome it turned out to be. This book concludes what has been a rollercoaster ride of a series, and I couldn’t imagine it ending in any other way. Throughout the Newsflesh trilogy, I’ve had the opportunity to get to know some brilliant characters. Georgia Mason, whom I’m probably going to name as one of my favorite book heroines from here on out, is a force to be reckoned with, and her presence never diminishes throughout the entire trilogy, even with respect to the events that unfold. Shaun Mason, whom I couldn’t help but feel for through some rough up and downs, is just as notable a lead even when his back is pressed against the wall. And as far as being a guy who hurts – when he does, it doesn’t go unnoticed and without due weight. I’ve also had the chance to get to know an amazing ensemble cast of supporting characters, and when certain events transpire, they hit hard as far as the tension, deaths, and unraveling truths are concerned. I laughed with them, I felt their struggles, agony, sadness, and shock – and that’s a rarity as far as novels of this genre are concerned. It impressed me.

I’m not going to spoil anyone on the events of this book or the collective series in its entirety, but I will tell you what it manages to do well. For those who want a character focused zombie novel with some interesting twists, plausible science and virology, and a network of betrayals, political manipulations and citizens caught in the crossfire of a zombie outbreak – this is one that stands firmly among its peers. Each book in the series, including “Blackout” kept me engaged from beginning to end with the respective mysteries and character actions that come to pass. The rolling action and character narrations, in its respective back and forth between the players and the blog entries was done exceptionally well. I will say that in the conclusion of the book, it does end a bit quicker than I expected it to, but the series manages to tie in many of the threads and mysteries that it’s established from point one.

In sum, I think those that have enjoyed the first two installments of this series will like what “Blackout” has to offer. It picks up from the events of the last book and hits the ground running, providing great character development, engaging conflicts that involve the blogging and political realms, as well as gives an eye opening look into the struggle for truth.

“Rise up while you can” indeed.

Overall score: 4.5/5

View all my reviews

