Review: Summer’s Crossing

Summer's Crossing
Summer’s Crossing by Julie Kagawa
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“Summer’s Crossing” is a far superior short story in the Iron Fey series compared to “Winter’s Passage”. Puck takes the reins as the narrator in this one, as the story is set shortly after the events of the last novel, “The Iron Queen”. Puck and Ash are journeying together (not necessarily per Ash’s preference), but they stop by the exiled queen’s Leanansidhe’s place for Ash to return a favor to her. She asks Puck and Ash to go to Queen Titania’s court and steal back a “violin” that was stolen from her, but the task doesn’t seem to be as easy as either of them would hope, given the Summer Queen’s temper and her attachment to the “violin.” Fortunately, Puck pulls an elaborate prank that’s true to his nature, having a share of silliness mixed with some serious tones.

I liked this tale very much. It made me laugh in several places, and I was suprised by how charmed I was by Puck’s narrative voice, both in his humor and in the moments where he’s torn in his own inner conflicts. It helped that the audiobook I listened to had a strong reader (Josh Hurley). I thought he captured the voice of the character very well.

I think it’s a great lead in to the last book in the series, and there’s a part of me that hopes that Puck gets another short story, if just to see what other mischief he can get into. I definitely liked the back and forth between him and Ash in this short adventure. Recommended for fans of the Iron Fey series.

Overall score: 4.5/5

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

