Season’s Greetings and a Few Announcements

Hi guys, Rose here with an update after quite a bit of reviewing.  It’s hard to believe that 2012 is almost over and the new year is just around the corner.  It’s been an amazing year, and I really have to thank you guys – followers, friends, fellow reviewers, readers – among others, for your support and I wish you and yours a wonderful holiday season.  On this Christmas Eve, I’m happily spending time with family, and in general contemplating some plans for the new year.fancy-christmas-tree

There are a few things I’ve wanted to touch base with respect to the blog for some time, but I haven’t had the opportunity to do so because I’ve been in massive workaholic mode and trying to settle in sorts among a number of different venues.  I’m hoping more will start falling into place once I find my footing with them.

Many of the plans that I wanted to work with respect to the blog didn’t come to fruition quite the way I wanted them to in the past year, but my hopes are that I can get things kicked off properly going into the transition for 2013.  Which means I’m going to start expanding a bit in addition to some of the content I’ve started with on the blog.

So in general, here are some of my announcements:

First, I’m planning to keep the layout of this blog the same,  because I think the theme is lovely and it actually suits my style of reviewing and content offers just the way I want it to.  The theme days are going to return and I’m going to start blogging again on a daily or every other day basis, which usually means I take about an hour or so each evening to craft the content and have it scheduled to post as I can do so.  I will be reviewing books and music again, in addition to the occasional movie, game, or other form of media I happen to peruse from time to time.  Mostly I’ve kept to books in the past year because I’ve had a number of awesome ARC requests come in and I’ve used most of my free time reading whatever I can get my hands on.  (That in addition to spontaneous trips to the library and my local book stores. :P)  That’s not to say that I’m going to keep to just reviews – I’ll probably have a number of food for thought and personal postings on my writing pursuits, miscellaneous musings, wellness insights among other things from time to time – it just won’t be that frequent.

Second announcement is  if you’re an author/publisher and you’re coming to me for reviews of your work via my contact address for the blog – your requests will likely be honored, but I’m going to ask that you fill out some details that I’m going to include on my Contact page in the coming days.  (You’ll see it on my link board, but I’ll make a formal announcement when it’s up so that people can find it.) It’s not much really: just if you send me an ARC via mail or e-mail, you need to let me know an approximate time when you want me to post a review on the blog, because I get a lot of requests and it makes it easier on me to determine when to read certain works around certain times.   I’ve been requesting a lot of galleys from services like NetGalley, so if you’re on there, that’s probably even better as far as a means of contact is concerned, but know that I will take requests via my gmail address at Rosepetalsw at gmail dot com.

Third announcement  and this is significant probably for me, moreso than it may have been for others who have already been in reviewing circles for a time – In addition to reviewing books on Goodreads and my blog, I’m going to start cross posting my book reviews on Amazon as well starting in 2013.  Some of you might be thinking “Well, that’s not such a big deal, Rose, a lot of people already do it.”  For me, it is because it’s taking me a bit out of my comfort zone.  I was (maybe even a little now) scared to death of Amazon’s reviewing system.  Or maybe I shouldn’t say the reviewing system itself because I’ve been used to Amazon’s system for years and that hasn’t stopped me from reviewing products under my real handle for a number of different things (however few) – but I’m scared more of the people who abuse it and are abusive towards critical reviewers there, and I have to be honest about that.  Have been for a while, and part of it is because I’ve been witness to it in multiple venues – especially in the past year.  I don’t think it’s just a problem in one spectrum or on the part of a singular party/group, but more of a problem among people – in general –  who don’t react to criticism and/or constructive critique well.  It’s always been my opinion that a variety of opinions and voices are far better than just positive feedback – because it gives a more realistic portrait of things and provides for a variety of perspectives.  I’m usually trying to find ways to push myself past my personal barriers in multiple venues – I feel like that’s key to personal and professional growth in any consideration.

I’m going to see if I can work out what details I want to do with the Amazon review measure, and then link to that when I redo my contact/About Me page.

I think that’s pretty much everything I have in the way of updates for now, but I’ll keep everyone posted as the end of the year approaches.  Happy Holidays everyone, Merry Christmas, Season’s Greetings, and all the best wishes towards the new year.

Cheers,

Rose

One comment

  1. […] I wrote a blog post in December outlining several things (which I’m just getting back to).  Those are pretty much in effect – blogging everyday or every other day and sticking to my theme days, writing reviews on Amazon in addition to my other venues (though I’m still not exactly sure how I’m going to work that, but I’ll keep you guys posted), and also revamping a system where I receive requests via the blog address.  Still a work in progress, but I’ve been trying to shop what my options are on those and what I can do with them. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

