Alice in WonderlandAlice in Wonderland by Rod Espinosa

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Initial reaction: Well this was certainly a charming rendition of “Alice in Wonderland”. This stays rather faithful to the original tale, and the illustrations are sure to appeal to children/middle grade readers specifically. Cute art style by Rod Espinosa.

Full review:

I’m certainly fond of readaptations of popular classics, and Rod Espinosa’s manga style adaptation of “Alice in Wonderland” is absolutely adorable. The tale follows Alice in her journey down the rabbithole into Wonderland, and stays faithful to a number of adaptations of the tale – including the Disney version among other hinted references. (As a result of reading this, I’m going to have “We’re painting the roses red…” stuck in my head for at least the next 24 hours.)

I thought the designs of many of the familiar characters were cute and were appropriate with the charm they provided through the respective story. I think this is the kind of comic that kids and middle grade readers would certainly enjoy, but it’s also appropriate for older audiences who just want to revisit the familiar tale. It’s a fairly quick read, my galley version had about 128 pages of full color illustrations, and the dialogue moves seamlessly from scene to scene. It brought a smile to my face, and overall, I certainly found it worth the read.

Overall score: 3.5/5

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Diamond Book Distributors.

View all my reviews

