His Larkville CinderellaHis Larkville Cinderella by Melissa McClone

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Initial reaction: I thought “His Larkville Cinderella” was a cute, clean romantic story, certainly had elements of its respective title to boot. I thought Adam and Megan’s relationship was worth following and their steadily developed chemistry was nice. Though I’ll admit I was a bit put off by the predictable elements and cheese. I knew where the story would head before it went there, and that took a bit out of the experience for me. Still, I needed a fluffy read, and I’m glad I got it out of this.

Full review:

“His Larkville Cinderella” by Melissa McClone was quite the sweet, if a bit typical story of sorts. It tells the story of an intern (Megan) who moves from her home in Larkville, Texas to work among a list of big named stars and high profile designers in Hollywood. She meets A-list actor Adam Noble, who’s known for his hot roles as well as his transient relationships with women. Yet, when Adam meets Megan, he’s drawn to her in a way that he’s never been in his former relationships. The two have a nice, steadily developing chemistry, though the fact they come from different worlds and the measure that Megan does not want to compromise her internship stand in the way of them coming together. So it’s pretty much a story of how they have to break down those barriers and take their relationship from there.

I think the main issue I had with this story wasn’t the fairy tale tie ins or even the lack of chemistry between the leads, but rather its sugary-sweet predictability. That’s a bit what kept it from being more to me because I knew when certain plot points would come, I knew the players who would stand in the way of their relationship because it kind of felt hammered in at a certain point, I knew what the ending would be and I thought it came a bit quick for my satisfaction. But watching the main characters develop and squirm and build their relationship (even in some nice points of humor) made it worth the read. I think if you’re looking for a light, clean romance between two leads and don’t mind the predictability, it’s something to peruse, and certainly I’d like to read more of McClone’s works in the future because of how she treats not only her writing but respective characters. I just wish it felt a bit more fulfilling.

Overall score: 2.5/5

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Harlequin.

View all my reviews

