The Wood Queen (The Iron Witch, #2)The Wood Queen by Karen Mahoney

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

“The Wood Queen” was Karen Mahoney’s second novel in “The Iron Witch” trilogy, and well…it somewhat underwhelmed me to be frank. The writing seemed to meander more and rely on more direct citations of cliches, the plot took forever to move from one vital point to the next, and I think the addition of Donna’s mother’s journal didn’t really add that much to the ongoing narrative, which suffered a bit from the staggering transitions. The plot itself revolved around Donna being put on trial for her actions in the previous book – sacrificing a vital elixir to save Navin. In the meantime, Donna realizes that the Wood Queen is up to no good, placing a curse on Donna’s mother that’s a ticking timebomb. Add to that some complicated tensions in the Orders and closely guarded secrets about Donna’s identity and abilities, and that’s pretty much the novel. It’s not nearly as engaging as I hoped it would be, however, and Donna makes some rather rash decisions that made me want to facepalm more than a few times. The novel ends well enough, on a decent transition point to the next work. I’ll admit I’m interested in seeing where this narrative goes, and I still like the characters overall, but I think the journey and narrative could’ve been a little better structured in the overarching tale.

Overall score: 2/5

View all my reviews

