Help! For Writers: 210 Solutions to the Problems Every Writer FacesHelp! For Writers: 210 Solutions to the Problems Every Writer Faces by Roy Peter Clark

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Help! For Writers” is certainly a writing guide I took quite a bit from. It addresses specific suggestions for different stages in the writing of a manuscript and how to remedy certain problems or blocks in their respective natures, whether it’s in the planning stages, organization, or different segments of your work in progress. The advice is to the point, practical, and very easy to understand and put to use. I definitely appreciated being able to go through each section, and found it easy to transition to a specific focal point within the index and easily searchable table of contents. Some of the practices I already knew, but I found the text made me look at certain things in an expanded context than what I’d been doing before. The writing guide resources at the end of the narrative also gave me additional jumping points to find resources beyond what this text provided.

I wouldn’t say that it’s comprehensive with respect to its advice, and I think there were places in the narrative where it could’ve been more specific, but this isn’t a style guide or a “how to write” guide as much as it is one that helps you along the process of where you get stuck and why that might be. Then it gives you suggestions about where to go, while asking you questions that make you think about the narrative your working on. I found it inspiring, well worth the price I bought it for, and will certainly use it in the future.

Overall score: 4/5

View all my reviews

