Courtney Crumrin Volume 3: The Twilight KingdomCourtney Crumrin Volume 3: The Twilight Kingdom by Ted Naifeh

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Courtney Crumrin’s certainly one of my favorite graphic novel series for younger readers. I love the dark, twisted fairy-tale air about it, and I wasn’t disappointed with the third installment of the series: “The Twilight Kingdom”. In this particular story, Courtney’s reeling from events of the last volume, and reunites with an old friend named Malcolm following her family’s sudden move, though she notes how much he’s changed and feels isolated from his group of friends. She also happens upon several kids who, upon one of them being cursed, she decides to help regardless of their sentiments against them, even going so far as to descent into a mysterious kingdom where they face certain danger and death.

Beautifully drawn artwork and compelling story, as is typical of this series. I really like following Courtney along – she’s funny in spurts and her emotions are palpable to both the strain she feels in her social relationships as well as with her family troubles. I also love how darkly humored this series is in general, with numerous pop culture references that perhaps younger readers may not readily pick up on, but generations a bit beyond that can (I’m pretty sure I saw one or two references including but not limited to Mork & Mindy, CSI: Miami, and Supernatural.)

Overall, I really hope to look into more installments of this series.

Overall score: 4/5

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Oni Press.

View all my reviews

