Review: Star Crossed (Battered Hearts #2) by Kele Moon

Star Crossed (Battered Hearts, #2)Star Crossed by Kele Moon

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This story required me to suspend my disbelief more than I wanted to in points. I just couldn’t really connect to Romeo and Jules relationship and the plot itself was threadbare, even haphazard in places. Coming off of “Defying the Odds”, I wondered what happened with this story and wonder if it was trying to take on too much with the mob story, with Romeo’s connections and family, and with Jules’s respective family and their issues. I did think it was kind of an interesting take on “Romeo and Juliet” in an erotic, alternative sense (names notwithstanding), but I have to say it just didn’t work for me.

I did appreciate the cameos of characters from the last book (including Melody and Clay), but it wasn’t enough to save the experience of the book because it all felt so milked for drama/conflict after a certain point. I did appreciate parts of the beginning, particularly when it started developing the main characters after the very shaky first chapter, but as the story went on, minus some of the development and steamier scenes that were towards the beginning, it came unglued. I think the more it tried to play up the corrupt links in the fights and Romeo’s past, the more I felt shortchanged in the respective story, particularly with the shoot out towards the ending. I just didn’t think things would end the way they did and none of it really added up to me the way it was presented alongside the characters.

I can’t really give this a single star because it wasn’t the worst thing I’ve read, but honestly, it could’ve been a heck of a lot better, and I think Kele Moon has the writing chops to make better stories. I didn’t like it and it had too many problems despite some interesting moments.

Overall score: 1.5/5

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Loose ID.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

