Review: Ninth Grade Slays (Vladimir Tod #2)

Ninth Grade Slays (The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod, #2)Ninth Grade Slays by Heather Brewer

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Initial reaction: Huh, I actually enjoyed this way more than the first book. Greater stakes, competing interests and the return of a villain. I think I will see this series out until its end, but I really enjoyed both the story and audio reading.

Full review:

It’s been a while since I picked up Heather Brewer’s “Chronicles of Vladimir Tod” series, and actually – the second book in the series came across as pretty cool when it was all said and done. I’m surprised how much I liked it, though it might’ve been because I perused the audiobook version, and also because there were a little more palpable stakes (no pun intended) in this respective work.

In this book, Vlad has to contend with keeping his identity as a vampire under wraps while facing new challenges. He still deals emotionally with the deaths of his parents and undergoing “vampire puberty” (what with changing eye colors and fangs that threaten to come out every now and again). But the biggest challenge for Vlad? Finding out a friend is really an enemy and the emergence of an old adversary who wanted to kill him coming back to finish the job. I liked the rolling action more in this book than the former, and it was good to see some of the same characters from the last book, such as Aunt Nelly, Vlad’s uncle Otis, and some of Vlad’s friends.

I definitely want to check into the next book considering the ending of this, as Vlad’s relationships are tested and I see it going in an interesting direction. Certainly still recommended for middle grade/YA readers.

Overall score: 3.5/5

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

