Fit Friday: Review – “Unlimited: How to Build an Exceptional Life” by Jillian Michaels

Hi guys, Rose here with another Fit Friday entry, and I’m highlighting a review for a book I read in the past few weeks that I really enjoyed from Jillian Michaels. It’s one of my favorite books on its respective subjects – self-improvement, mindfulness, and building a better life.  I hope that you enjoy the review, and if you’re curious, that you’ll check into the read.  I would definitely recommend the audio version of “Unlimited” as well, because it’s narrated by Jillian herself.

Until next entry, stay well all!

~Rose

Unlimited: How to Build an Exceptional LifeUnlimited: How to Build an Exceptional Life by Jillian Michaels

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Jillian Michaels is my heroine, probably in more ways than one considering her forthright, confident attitude, and I have quite a bit of respect for her. I’ve read some of her books in the past in the measure of fitness. But “Unlimited: How to Build an Exceptional Life” isn’t so much a guide to fitness as it is a read building upon setting goals and accomplishing what you set out to do, even in the face of adversity, failure, and shortchanging your own lifestyle. She reveals a series of logical, well-organized steps to follow in order to make things happen for the people who want to change themselves. It’s honest, both in how Michaels references parts of her own personal and professional life, including experiences and relationships “The Biggest Loser”, and it doesn’t mince words for being tough as nails in the approaches of what limits one’s capacity/ability to do more. It talks about dreaming, facing fears, evaluating aspects of your past and present in order to shape your future, mindfulness and faith, among other dimensions. I think I loved the audiobook that much more because Michaels narrates it herself and her voice punctuates each step, experience, and focal point that much more. It’s definitely not the typical self-help guide that focuses on mind set, but rather, it focuses more on what needs to be done in order to, in her words, “do the work.” I enjoyed it and would highly recommend it.

Overall score: 4.5/5

View all my reviews

One comment

Leave a Reply

