Leadership Lessons from the Cherokee Nation: Learn from All Leadership Lessons from the Cherokee Nation: Learn from All I Observe I ObserveLeadership Lessons from the Cherokee Nation: Learn from All I Observe by Chad Smith

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Chad Smith’s “Leadership Lessons from the Cherokee Nation” is a must read for anyone looking for an inspiring, productive read in the realm of leadership. Smith accounts his years and progressions as a leader of the Cherokee nation from 1999 until 2011, and he draws upon his own knowledge, personal experiences, as well as the experiences of his family – including his great-grandfather Redbird Smith – as how to how they lead their lives as leaders in the face of numerous challenges and adversity. I thought this was an eye-opening read not only on the level of learning the history of struggles within and among the Cherokee Nation, but also how it approaches getting back to basics and paving a way to learn and progress. Smith identifies that it takes listening and learning to identify the problems that are there, identifying where and how you want to progress beyond that point, and then taking the steps to apply that “Point A to Point B” mentality in order to achieve the results one wants, and I found it not only illuminating to see how this worked from the principles of the Cherokee Nation, but also in any measure of attaining ones goals for not only the individual, but working within and for a group.

This is certainly a book I would not hesitate to recommend and one that I will long keep with me as far as the lessons and messages it carries are concerned. Much, much respect to Chad Smith for writing this respective work – I found the principles, essays, and advice all worth the read.

Overall score: 5/5

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher McGraw Hill.

View all my reviews

