Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Search Part 1Avatar: The Last Airbender – The Search Part 1 by Gene Luen Yang, et al.

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Another amazing story in the Avatar: The Last Airbender comic series. I always love revisiting the characters and their respective adventures through this series, and this was no exception. Zuko’s faced with a mighty task with respect to his family – having detained both his father and his sister and dealing with the weight of not knowing where his mother is. However, Azula takes the opportunity to escape, revealing information that may be key to finding out where their mother is. Reluctantly, Zuko enlists the help of the usual gang (minus Toph, sadly) to follow the trail, but there are some bumps in the road.

I loved the established backstory on Zuko’s mother in this work, and the overarching story has a great blend of action, tough situations and humor. Beautiful artwork as well. The story leaves me wanting more considering the revelation at the end, and I can’t wait to pick up the next part.

Overall score: 5/5

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Dark Horse Comics.

View all my reviews

