Review: A Taste of You by Sorcha Grace

A Taste of You (The Epicurean, #1)A Taste of You by Sorcha Grace

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Initial reaction: This was pretty much Fifty Shades of Grey with foodplay.

That is not a compliment.

Full review:

Some of you may know I sometimes have songs to pop into my mind whenever I read a book if it coincides with thematics or moods that I see in a work. For some reason, while reading this book, Madonna’s “Masterpiece” kept coming to mind. Maybe it was the art connection that was briefly featured in the scene where Catherine and William went to the art gallery.

I’ll admit I’m not sure where to start in reflecting on Sorcha Grace’s “A Taste of You.” I’ll admit that in theory, much of this book could’ve been pretty sexy and interesting to read about. Sure, I was weary with the whole premise of the wealthy billionaire lover (because it’s been done so much in erotica lately and not very well, sadly). Yet this work had the distinction of featuring a heroine who specialized in food photography,a factor that I personally looked forward to reading about. I couldn’t have been more disappointed with this work at the level of its presentation and progression.

“A Taste For You” was so utterly ridiculous and an unapologetic copycat of “Fifty Shades of Grey” that by the time I was done, I felt like throwing my e-reader across the room. Even down to the repeated “Oh mys”. The writing in this is overexpository, indulgent, and repetitive, with many instances of telling, but not showing from the heroine’s perspective. I couldn’t stand her voice, between the instalove she experiences over William to the mundane depictions of her work, which were overdone for the subject matter. I do believe there were numerous contradictory depictions of William’s eyes, and sometimes the heroine would spend several pages focusing on that one element, which didn’t do much for the story. I have to wonder – are William’s eyes blue-gray, silver, midnight blue, or what? Because all of those are completely different colors and each of those descriptors, among others, were used at least once, if not multiple times by the heroine.

The cliches are numerous, from the gay best friend (Beckett, who I couldn’t be bothered with because he gave terrible advice to the heroine and wasn’t a standout character) to the troubled pasts of both lovers, to the fact that William would somehow conveniently show up wherever the heroine would be, even at her house. It didn’t feel realistic or sexy at all. I was surprised at one point when the couple were making out in a freezer and the heroine takes notice of the pieces of meat and fish in the area. Least appealing place to make out ever.

I don’t find blatant disregard for a lover’s wishes sexy in any capacity, which is what William did in many instances of this book. He lied many times about his past, usually for no good reason and while Catherine would shout him down, saying that she never wanted to see him again, she would run back to him just as quickly – and it was frustrating to watch when their chemistry was threadbare at best.

I don’t mince words when I say this is “Fifty Shades” with foodplay, because there are a lot of food notations here that aren’t really depicted well. Even the sex scenes feel repetitive, with William asserting over and over that he wants to taste the heroine and that she “smells good.” There’s the dirty talk, but coming from William, it’s more creepy and condescending than anything close to sensuous.

I just couldn’t be bothered with this book and I think I’m stopping my journey with the series here, even with the cliffhanger of an ending that lends to the promise of developing William’s past in the next work. I couldn’t muster enough investment in either William or Catherine to continue watching their respective relationship.

Not recommended.

Overall score: 0.5/5

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Premier Digital Publishing.

View all my reviews

2 comments

Leave a Reply

