Warlord of Mars Dejah Thoris Volume 4: The Vampire Men of Saturn TpWarlord of Mars Dejah Thoris Volume 4: The Vampire Men of Saturn Tp by Robert Place Napton

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Oh man, where to start with this particular book. The cover art illustrations are fine, as were the ones for the particular issues, but what happened with the rest of the artwork in this volume, particularly in the middle and towards the end panels? It’s terribly inconsistent throughout the volume and made me cringe at the off-look of some of the characters, including Dejah, who had a face so misshapen in quite a few panels that it didn’t even seem like the same character.

I usually read these volumes for the stories they offer and understand the problematic tropes they may have, especially given the formulaic origins of the original story, but usually I can get something out of the story to see where it’s going, and I know this is based on an adaptation of Burroughs work, just an adult re-imaging. For this particular tale – I didn’t see the point of it. Vampire like beings abduct Dejah after she traverses (in usual attire if you will) in an Arctic-like climate. She’s held captive, finds who she thinks is a friend and busts out of prison, only to be betrayed and find herself captive yet again, and there’s very little to no character action on Dejah’s part. I couldn’t even think much of the character death that was in this because it was so quick and of little shown consequence.

It was a quick read, but honestly, it wasn’t worth the thirty minutes it took for me to read it, I didn’t like it at all. I’m not sure if I’m going to follow the next volume but it depends on if the storyline ever picks up to the point where Dejah’s actually being more proactive (or if the quality of the artwork improves past this particular volume).

Overall score: 0.5/5

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Dynamite Entertainment.

View all my reviews

