Review: Piece of My Heart

Piece of My HeartPiece of My Heart by Lynn Madelenna Menna
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

“Piece of My Heart” failed to impress me, unfortunately. The story centers around up and coming superstar Marisol (who goes by Mari). She’s discovered by an agent of a major superstar, and this story depicts her rise to fame and the clashes between. I did like the fact that the story features a POC main character, but so much of this novel was way too shallow for me to identify with or follow. I didn’t really like Mari’s character – I thought she was selfish and pretty much stayed that way for the entire book, without really coming to terms with anything. She keeps calling a rival girl a “skank” and there’s not so subtle slut shaming in this in copious amounts. The depiction of the entertainment industry was mostly centered around cliches and didn’t really feel like it captured the environment in a realistic light. The lyrics for the songs here weren’t my cuppa and it was hard to imagine them in the scheme of the story – they weren’t really given any intimacy or substantiation to mean anything.

Mari’s off and on relationship with Julian was frustrating and I didn’t really feel the connection between them. I think the one character that I saw potential with was Mari’s older sister, but I don’t think the character intimacies in this novel were drawn that well.

Unfortunately, this was a miss for me.

Overall score: 1/5 stars

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher F+W/Adams Media.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

