Hey guys, Rose here.  This is the second prompt in the reading challenge hosted by goodbooksandgoodwine.com.  If you want to see how others have answered this challenge question, feel free to peruse this post.

15-Day-Challenge

So the second question in this challenge asks my bedtime reading ritual.  Good question, because this tends to vary by night and circumstance.  On weekdays, my nightly reading schedule is brief (though usually, I’ll read whenever I have time through the day – commuting allows for quite a bit of downtime, as does the lunch hour).

On a weeknight, I budget maybe 90  minutes to read a physical book or ebook (which is about the same time I budget for exercise three times a week).   Audiobooks take longer – so if I’m settling down for the night and the book I’m reading is audio, I go ahead and turn off all my lights, snuggle under the covers, and just listen until I know I’m too tired to continue.  I’ve only fallen asleep a few times with the audio still going, I’m usually good about keeping awake and knowing when to stop.  It’s the same as when I’m doing a nightly meditation session.

If I’m in a good book (or if the read happens to be one of those where I know I can’t bear to pick it up the next day), I stay up to finish as much as I can, snuggle under the covers, keep my reading lamp on if I’m reading a physical book.  I have a little stand by my bed I keep my stack of physical books on, and if I have an e-device I’m reading on, I stage it there depending on what I read.

I can read a 250 page book in under a few hours, depending on the type of read it is.  I usually fly through YA books and certain genres, but I’ll prolong the read if I’m savoring a really good story or the prose in itself.

On weekends – I’ll read for as long as my attention’s held, and I don’t mind reading into the wee hours of the morning. I’ve been known to finish 2-3 books inside a day on weekends if I’m not busy planning the upcoming week, doing general maintenance around my home, or engaged in a TV or movie marathon (though these days, I do more reading than watching TV – I watch under 5-6 hours of TV in a week, so you can say that plays a big part on why I’m able to go through a lot of books).

That’s all for today’s entry.  I’ll answer the next challenge question tomorrow. 🙂

Cheers!

