15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 6 – How I Shop For Books

We’re a bit into Day 6 now for this entry, so I figure I might as well post it following the heels of the previous day.  This challenge was prompted by Good Books and Good Wine, and if you want to see what other bloggers have answered on this very question, you can click the link here.  With that, let me answer today’s prompt.

15-Day-Challenge

 

So today’s entry asks me how I shop for books.  I’ll admit it’s changed a bit since I’ve started blogging about books, and it takes into consideration whether I’m physically shopping for books or ordering them online.

Let me start by describing how I research books I want.  Usually, that’s in the form of perusing sites like Goodreads to see what books are out there in my chosen genres or by form of recommendations I get from friends, family, or people in my reading circles and communities.  Goodreads is my main  go-to community, but I’ll also peruse some of my other book catalogue communities to see what other people say.   I read a lot of books from the library as well, and if a book impresses me enough, I will definitely buy a copy for myself.  Sarah Beth Durst’s “Vessel,” Constance Hale’s “Vex, Hex, Smash, Smooch”,  and Nancy Farmer’s “The House of the Scorpion” are just a few examples of purchases I’ve made on account of library checkouts recently.  I also get a lot of exposure to books from ARC sites like NetGalley and Edelweiss as well.   Usually with those, I will order them online or grab a sale at my physical bookstore if they have one in a given week, where I can get that particular book with a coupon or special promotion.  I’m about even on the shopping online/physical bookstore purchasing measure, so it’s not as if I use one of the other, I like doing both as I am able to do it.

There are many times I’ll buy books from browsing, and usually what goes into that is that I’ll peruse some of my favorite genres – find a title that intrigues me.  A good cover image will help sway my buy sometimes, but usually I’ll read what the book is about and gauge whether it intrigues me.  If it’s an author that’s new to me, I’ll be especially looking to see whether that book engages me after I read it.  If it’s an author I know, it depends on how much I’ve read their work and what I thought of their style from previous reads.  There are authors I have on auto-buy, because I’ve read enough of their work and I trust the quality of their books – like Jennifer Crusie, Julie James, Courtney Milan,  Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, C.S. Harris,  Billy Collins, Hannah Moskowitz, and probably many others I could name from a plethora of different genres, styles, and age groups.  Usually, if I’m perusing a physical aisle, or if I’m browsing online, I will look for any new books from some of my favorite authors and depending on the price and my book budget, I’ll purchase.  There may be a few times I’ll go over my book budget, but not too often. =)

Until next entry,

~Rose

Leave a Reply

