Day 7 of Good Books and Good Wine’s 15-Day Book Blogger Challenge Begins, at least in my area of the blogosphere.  I’m going to jump right into this today, because this is a unique question that I’ll admit I haven’t thought much about, and it’s setting my mental wheels in motion.  If you want to see how others have answered this question, check out this post.

15-Day-Challenge

 

Today’s entry asks me about my individual blogging quirks.  It’s probably better if I do this in bullet form because it’s easier for me to spell out.  I had to really think about today’s prompt a while, because I didn’t think I had any particular quirks that stood out, but when I looked at my evolving methodology towards posting and blogging in general,  I realized there are quite a few quirks that I have that stand out from others.  So here we go:

  • I used to post reviews as soon as I finished with them on the blog, but later, I discovered the joys of scheduling my posts on WordPress.  Now I’m usually 1-2 weeks ahead when I’m posting reviews, and it’s done wonders to help my reading schedule and have a review up at least every day, or every other day.  My only problem now is finding the time to keep a rhythm for my theme days, which I love doing, but I’m still finding my feet with posting them on a regular schedule.
  • I tend to listen to music while I’m working on a post for the blog.  Not so much when I’m working on a book review (though sometimes songs will pop into my head if it suits a thematic for a book), but in general when I’m posting an entry like this one, because it takes a while.  I’m listening to T.M. Revolution’s “Web of Night,” “Invoke,” and “Pied Piper” as I’m writing this. 😛  My music taste is all over the place, but I find my most listened genres for penning blog posts are either J-pop/rock, something from my top 100 list on Itunes, or a random Spotify playlist.
  • I second guess myself frequently if I write a short review for a book.  Most of the time, my reviews tend to be moderate sized, but every now and again – I’ll write a very expanded review (positive, negative, or somewhere between), and then turn around and write a short review for another.  It’s dependent on the book itself, mostly, but for my shorter reviews, I always wonder “Did I talk about it enough?  Should I add something more?”
  • I use parenthetical expressions quite a bit when writing reviews and expansions.  (How many can you count in this post? ;))
  • I blog much better at night/early hours of the morning.  Like it’s a bit after midnight when I’m penning this post (but it will probably go up a bit later based on the scheduling measure).

That’s just a few of my quirks I wanted to share.  Until next entry, happy reading/writing and stay well all!

~Rose

