Review: The Siren’s Secret by Heather Ostler

The Siren's SecretThe Siren’s Secret by Heather Ostler
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Initial reaction: I need to think about my overall rating for this one, but despite where it falls, I think this is the end of the line for me for Heather Ostler’s respective series, as “The Siren’s Secret” really didn’t impress me on behalf of the shallow heroine, disjointed dialogue, among other measures despite an interesting premise.

Full review:

This is going to be a short review because it’s hard for me to talk about a book that really never grabbed me in the whole time that I read it. I did initially read Heather Ostler’s “The Shapeshifter’s Secret”, and while I didn’t care for it, I was hoping that its follow-up “The Siren’s Secret” would improve upon the first book in a meaningful way. It certainly has an interesting lore about it with the incorporation of sirens and the backdrop of an overarching war, but it’s hard to identify with Julia considering she has uber “special snowflake” syndrome. For a girl who can wield special powers such as hypnotism and shifting into a werecat, it seems her own interests are in the boys she’s toggling between, and considering her destiny to lead a people forward – guess what she’s more occupied asking an Oracle whom she can consult about the future?

She wants to know whether or not she will be alone. And the Oracle gives her the answer “Yes” and Julia’s like “Oh NO! I’ll never get married!”

The writing continues to be the biggest detractor from this particular story, between stilted dialogue and a significant disconnect with the established characters. I’ll admit when I put the book down, I just didn’t remember much about it, nor did I feel compelled to read more into the world or about the respective characters because they felt so threadbare.

Suffice to say, I think this series just isn’t for me. At least I can say the story improved somewhat as it went along in its stakes, but not enough to leave a positive impression.

Overall score: 1/5

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Cedar Fort.

View all my reviews

2 comments

    • Oh, definitely agreed on the cover, lipsyy. I think Heather Ostler had great cover artists for this particular series. I wish the read could’ve worked out just as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

