Review: The Prince by Tiffany Reisz (Original Sinners #3)

The PrinceThe Prince by Tiffany Reisz
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Tiffany Reisz’s “The Prince” was an improvement over the last book “The Angel”, but I’ll admit I had to read this through a mental filter as well, given it touched upon displays of such brutal, almost non-consensual sex (if you could call it that – it’s heavy BDSM, but there are several references to it being so bad it had insinuation to rape) that I couldn’t help but feel bad for Kingsley and rage at the incident. I still don’t like Soren at all, but I understood, from what this book portrayed, a little more about his character from his relationship with Kingsley. Kingsley takes the reins in this novel as far as the predominant focal character is concerned. I liked that this had more focus and focal points via the referred character’s perspective to it than “The Angel” did, and it has quite a compelling backdrop conflict that lends into an interesting cliffhanger ending for this book.

If Nora is the “The Siren” and Michael was “The Angel”, then Kingsley is “The Prince.” The link has in part to do with Kingsley being read “The Little Prince” as a child and measures of his boyhood. The book trades between the past and present for Kingsley’s character, establishes his meeting and complicated relations with Soren, and also delving into the present day scenario of an interesting mystery involving a theft from his person which included a file on Nora’s past. There are other jarring examples of revenge Kingsley notes as time goes on – and it seems that a mysterious player wants to do harm to the close knit circle of people that we’ve come to know in the last few books. In the meantime, Nora’s fled from Soren and stays with Wesley (who just so happens not to be a virgin anymore by the time this book is finished, *wink, wink*). I did like the passages that involved Nora, Wesley and his family. It shows some complicated ups and downs in their relationship given Nora’s past and her decisions made in the present. But Kingsley’s issues with the missing file and horrible acts committed by the person in the shadows have everything to do with Nora too, and from the looks of things, it culminates into a rather jarring scenario.

For what it was worth, I did like “The Prince”, but not quite on the same level as the first book. The writing was strong, the focus was much better than “The Angel”, but again – it may be a personal thing because I was bothered by some of the thematics in this book, but I expected that to some degree given the nature of the series. I have to give it credit though – I kept reading through this and it held my attention. I’m oddly invested in this cast of characters, even if they are rather complicated, flawed, and sometimes make me want to shake my e-screen.

I have the ARC of the next book – and given how this novel ends, I will be picking up “The Mistress” as soon as I can.

Overall score: 2.5/5 stars

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Harlequin MIRA.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

