My second day doing the 30 Day Book challenge and it’s asking me what books I’ve read more than three times.  Quite a few in fact, between childhood and adulthood.

I’ll choose three from my childhood/teen years, and three from adulthood.

I’ve always had a fondness for coming of age stories, so two that really struck me as a young teen were “The Jellyfish Season” by Mary Downing Hahn and “Too Moons in August” by Martha Brooks.  I technically count “Too Moons in August” as one of my adult reads since I reread it as an adult a couple of years back.

The cover version that I have for “Too Moons in August” is quite different from the one you see in the cover flow – it has two teens on the cover, with the girl sitting on a porch and the guy sitting near her.  I thought it was a beautifully written story over a girl who’s grieving over the loss of her mother, and comes to love the boy she meets one summer in the 1950s.

Actually, I’ve found it so I’ll just let you guys see for yourselves:

I keep begging my parents to try to find this book and bring it up from my childhood home, but it’s packed away among other books I read as a kid/teen.  I’ve read this book a total of 7 times in my life.  It’s not very long (the version I had was just a little over 200 pages, if that), so it was an easy reread, and well-written.

“The Jellyfish Season” is also a coming of age summer story where a girl navigates the line between rebellion against the life she knows and what she wants.  There is a weird part where her friend falls in love with a much older guy, but mostly I remember identifying with the main protagonist.  I’ve read this book about 4 times.

Joyce Sweeney was an author that influenced my writing style as a kid/teen, so I have to make mention of “The Spirit Window” – which is the story of a girl who spends the summer with her family, and meets a Native American boy with a penchant for trouble.  I thought it was a good coming of age story as well, and the cover always fascinated me.  I’ve read this book about five times.

I’ll also admit to being an Ann M. Martin book fiend – reading many of the Babysitter’s Club books and other books as well.   But many people don’t talk about the California Diaries series, and I’ve read them multiple times because they were so easy to go through.  Amalia’s stories intrigued me and gave me a person to identify with because she was a creative girl, close to her family, and a character of color.

But she had an abusive boyfriend. 😦    I read the California Diaries series collectively four times, so this one counts with the challenge.  I’m choosing Amalia’s second book because it has my favorite cover of the series.

Other honorable mentions of books from my childhood/teen years:  “Forged by Fire” by Sharon M. Draper, “My Antonia” by Willa Cather, and “The Golden Compass” by Phillip Pullman.  All of which I’ve read three times, so they didn’t quite count towards this challenge.

Books I’ve reread more than three times as an adult?  Not that many, to be honest in comparison to my youth, but I can think of a few off the top of my head.  “The Knife of Letting Go” by Patrick Ness and “The Lake of Dead Languages” by Carol Goodman were both two of my favorites and I’ve re-read them four times each.

 

