TouchTouch by Marina Anderson
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Short review for a short read.  I toggled between 1 and 1.5 stars for this installment of Marina Anderson’s “The Dining Club” serial novel – “Touch”.  Not very much eventful happened, at least not apart from what I expected.  Thus there wasn’t any suspense when I saw the overarching events came to be.  It’s not the worst written part in this series, but it’s not only predictable, but a little lacking and redundant.  It does give resolution to one part of Grace’s trial situation, so Amber and Andrew’s positions and relationships are challenged, and Andrew makes a move and has some sentiments to spare…which result in something of a cliffhanger ending.

I’m still having trouble connecting with these characters (I still don’t see or feel the connection of the relationships that are told in this, rather than shown), not just in the sexy time romps, but also for development.  The clearest motivations from the characters in this series came with the last installment, which I think was the best among the ones I’ve perused besides the opening.  As far as whether I would continue with the novel from this point – probably if it were a complete novel, maybe, but I think this is where I stop because it’s not holding my attention in its serial parts, and I’m wanting more from the characters in terms of motivation, conflict, and engagement.

Overall score: 1.5/5 stars

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Forever.

View all my reviews

