Well this is one of the more difficult prompts I’ve had to tackle.  Day 15 (halfway through the month) and I’m having to make a list of my favorite male characters.

Why? Why must you make me choose?  *sighs*

This certainly isn’t a comprehensive list, but these are among some of my favorite male characters, which are coming off the top of my head.

Rowan from “Wanderlove” – Rowan is pretty awesome.  A bad boy trying to stay good while being bitten by the same “global vagabond” bug that Bria ended up being bitten by.  I was totally into their chemistry when reading this book, and I really liked him as well.  Plus, he rocks the ponytail look pretty well.  If anyone’s wondering what Rowan looks like (as per artistic representation from the author herself in the book):

The artwork in this book is also very, very good.  I appreciated that Kirsten Hubbard included the artwork in this book, because it makes it so realistic.

Samwise Gamgee from “Lord of the Rings” – Yeah, I’m a fan of Samwise because if he weren’t around, Frodo would’ve never made his journey.  I’ve always liked him, even from the first time I read the series.  He’s one of those characters who’s incredibly loyal, and loyalty is something I’m big on, alongside likability.

Jonah Griggs from “On the Jellicoe Road” – Because he’s Jonah Griggs!   What other reason do I need?  =)  Kidding.  He’s a great dimensional character.  Goes through so many tough situations and he’s also very loyal to Taylor.

One of my favorite quotes (among many) in Jellicoe Road:

“If you weren’t driving, I’d kiss you senseless,” I tell him.
He swerves to the side of the road and stops the car abruptly.
“Not driving any more.”

Hardy Cates from “Blue Eyed Devil” – Hardy Cates is the kind of self-made millionaire, bad boy, alpha male I can understand.  That is not easy considering the many, many “wannabes” that I see in the contemporary romance genre that try to duplicate those qualities.  His relationship with Haven was very well shown in this book, and I think it’s something to say that Kleypas has a great way of crafting her male characters.  I liked him – didn’t always like the things he did – but I understood his motivations for things and liked the way he changed over time alongside Haven.  Considering I’m not always fond of alpha males, for me to mention Hardy on this list is a pretty big deal.

Fitzwilliam Darcy from “Pride and Prejudice” – I seriously went far too long without mentioning P&P on these lists – Darcy’s just a fascinating character all around.  I think he was one of the first heroes of classic literature that I found a connection to, and I rooted for him and Elizabeth through the novel.   He’s honest, he’s willing to admit his own wrongs, and he’s incredibly loyal.  He’s not without flaws, but what flaws he has makes him human, which I found refreshing to follow.

Thomas McKee from “The Piper’s Son”:  Interesting enough that I have two Melina Marchetta heroes on this list.  I liked Tom well enough in Saving Francesca, but man, does he run the gauntlet in “The Piper’s Son”.  I rooted for him through so many hardships in this novel.  He starts off in a very rough place – college dropout, distancing from his friends, near tragic miss – just probably the worst of ruts you could consider.  I wanted to hug him so many times.  His grief hits you like a punch to the gut, but how he grows from that point really made him a character of great standing in my eyes.

Mahir Gowda from “The Newsflesh Trilogy” – Mahir does not get enough love.  I’m dead serious about this.  When Shaun was being a brat, when Georgia needed him to step up to the plate, Mahir was there working about as hard as he could muster in the whole scheme of the craziness that ensued, whether facing off against zombies or gathering intel.  He’s intelligent, loyal, funny (bringing a fair share of snark), and though I felt sorry for him in the fact that he had contentions with his wife over his work, man, I liked him.  I liked him a heck of a lot.

Puck from Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series (especially Summer’s Crossing):  I like guys who can make me laugh, so little wonder I include Puck on this list.  I actually consider him a far more fascinating male character than Ash in the series.  He manages to show up and make things far more interesting, like adding color to a grey scene.   Little wonder I get a big grin on my face whenever he decides to show up, even in Kagawa’s newer series: “Call of the Forgotten”.  His role is brief in the latter, but he never fails to amuse.

Sherlock Holmes – Can I count Sherlock as a favorite character? I imagine people are probably looking at my list and going “WTF Rose, you jumped from cute to loyal to classic to funny male characters and then you jump to Sherlock?”  Well, it’s because I base my favorite male characters on personality and certain traits.  Intelligent male characters fascinate me,  I prefer intelligent male characters over those that are abrasive or over the top any day.  So yeah, of course I’m going to say Sherlock.  And Sherlock’s one of the characters that I had a fascination with for a long time in terms of watching his respective quirks and do what he does best.  So yeah, I regret nothing.

I could probably name more, but I’m running out of space.  Now I’m going to have to beat my brain trying to come up with my favorite female characters for tomorrow. >___<

Until next entry,

~Rose

