Review: Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Hyperbole and a HalfHyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Initial reaction: This book deserves ALL THE STARS!

You knew that was coming, right? 🙂 On a serious note, I loved Allie Brosh’s funny, honest, and charming account of her life through the artwork and narration in “Hyperbole and a Half.” This book is a compilation of several stories Brosh has told on her blog of the same name, compiled in this book, along with some stories I’ll admit I haven’t seen before.

Full review:

I always have a difficult time writing reviews on books that hit my all-time favorites list, and this book was no exception. Allie Brosh’s “Hyperbole and a Half” is based upon her very popular posts on her website of the same name. I started following it quite some time ago and was taken by her very humorous and true to life narratives coupled with awesome artwork. (Yes, I said it, her artwork is awesome, even if said artwork includes possessed, demonic repressed geese. But at least accurate portrayal is accurate. That true story was hilarious.)

If there were a single quibble that I would have about the collection in general – I think the ARC could’ve done with maybe a bit of background info on Allie as well as a TOC showing the order of the tales that were included in the narrative. I think that might be helpful for people who are not only just being introduced to Allie’s narratives in general, but also just for organizational/orientation’s sake.

I think the first included entry in the series of comics and narratives is appropriate though, considering it’s Allie addressing her ten year old self (and younger selves) at the age of 25, and realizing that finding a letter written to her future self from ten years old was…well, a weird experience.

The narratives from there on are random presentations of Allie Brosh’s life, from her experiences with her family, loved ones, and dogs, to expansions on growing up to adulthood and depression. So much of the narratives I could relate to, and I had a good laugh with them and learned a bit more about Brosh in the process. She has a fresh, identifiable wit that comes across in both the art and anecdotes, even for some of the tough subjects she addresses. That I respected a lot and I consider her my heroine for being honest and good humored in the same measure.

It’s a fun read, and one I would wholeheartedly recommend.

Overall score: 4.5/5 stars

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Touchstone.

View all my reviews

3 comments

Leave a Reply

