30 Day Book Challenge Day 18 – Book that Disappointed Me

Day 18 in this respective challenge and it’s asking me about a book that disappointed me.  I’m assuming this is books that I really looked forward too, and then was underwhelmed by, so I’m just going to name the book that comes to the top of my head.

I really, really, really wanted to love Alaya Dawn Johnson’s “The Summer Prince” – this should’ve been a book I fawned all over, but sadly for the meandering of the writing, the lack of a character that I could connect to, and familiar cliches that I’ve read over and over in YA dystopian fiction (not to mention a lack of immersion and accuracy for the Brazilian culture it depicts) – I just couldn’t get into it.  It saddened me, but I will admit there were beautiful passages and ideas in the book.  I just wish it could’ve amounted to more.  And even thinking about this book saddens me because it was one of my most anticipated reads for the year.  Still, I think I respect the fact that it just wasn’t my thing, and I would like to read more from the author in the future (especially since I loved her short story in Zombies vs. Unicorns).

Until next entry,

~Rose

2 comments

Leave a Reply

