Finally caught up with the challenge now and it’s asking me for my favorite title(s) of a book.  I’m guessing this means titles of books that I really, really like?  Huh.  That’s quite an interesting prompt, but really hard to think about.

I’m fishing through books that I’ve already read, so I’ll name nine books for this one.

Some of these I chose for the poetic nature of their titles, and others I chose because they were silly/funny/good humored.

Of the ones that I found had strong, poetic titles:

      

Joyce Sweeney’s “The Spirit Window” was a book I loved for its cover, title, content, the whole work.  And it gives an evocative image as well.

Carson McCullers’s “The Heart is a Lonely Hunter” encapsulates a great deal of emotion about the book in its title, and there’s a reason why this is one among many of my favorite novels.

I always liked the juxtaposition of images in the title of Phillip Pullman’s third novel in the His Dark Materials series:  “The Amber Spyglass”.  Very pretty, even in conjunction with the cover.

“Wanderlove” – because something about the title stands out on its own for Kirsten Hubbard’s novel.  (And yeah, I’ve had this book on so many lists, it’s a shame.  I regret nothing =P)

For the silly/funny/just randomly awesome titles:

      

“Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass” – enough said, this title had me sold at “hello.”

“Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead” – this title shouldn’t be funny, but considering it seems to have a deadpan delivery (as well as the nature of the play), it comes across as humorous.

“The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” – I liked the humored approach in this title as well.

“On the Bright Side, I’m Now the Girlfriend of a Sex God” – Love, love, love Louise Rennison, and I remember seeing this at my local library and thinking “I need to read this book, the title is awesome.”

“The Boyfriend List: 15 Guys, 11 Shrink Appointments, 4 Ceramic Frogs and Me, Ruby Oliver” – see above description, I knew I had to read this book for the nature of the titles in this whole series, because it brought a grin to my face.

There are others I could probably name, but I think I’ll leave it at that.

Until next entry,

~Rose

