Review: All He Wants by C.C. Gibbs

All He WantsAll He Wants by C.C. Gibbs
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Some might say that I’ve reached the point where I’m just over the billionaire bad boy erotic romance story in general, but I have a bone to pick. It’s not that I wasn’t on board initially with trying to see where this book would go, and I wouldn’t even say that it’s poorly written, but the scenario in itself was so contrived and derivative that I just threw up my hands from both the obvious stereotypes and the measure that by the time I finished the narrative, it bored me because there was seriously nothing to distinguish it fro the other 50 Billion erotic titles out there that take on the same story.

How many times is this going to happen? Seriously, erotic writers, 50 Shades of Grey is not the only erotic template out there. E.L. James is the not only erotic writer out there. I can name several erotic writers that actually contribute to the diversity of the genre and expand on their characters in more meaningful ways – Megan Hart, Lauren Dane, Tiffany Reisz, Kele Moon, Joey W. Hill, among others. Argh. Seriously, you are allowed to write about other male heroes who don’t have control complex issues (because it’s not the only fatal flaw a guy can have who may be into various…er, pursuits of the sexual equation). Or if you’re going to go that route, at least treat it like the fatal flaw that it is and don’t champion it to the point where the heroine desires that problematic factor in and of itself. (Though I do give some credit to the heroine in turns of this because she really doesn’t take all of Dominic’s respective B.S., but it’s not enough for me to follow through with the rest of this series.)

C.C. Gibbs kind of wavers between taking it in a different direction and staying within the tried formula. Unfortunately, this narrative is a little too familiar to make it stand out, and I’ll admit the read bored me after a time.

I didn’t entirely dislike the characters here from the beginning, it looked like from the structure of the characterizations and focus on both the heroine’s family and work life that this would be a decent read, same with the hero despite his respective issues. I actually followed it rather well. Dominic is a charismatic billionaire but when he has a mean/control streak, you know it from the get go, and part of it has to do with the death of his wife. He likes to be in control – especially in matters of business. Kate has an interview with Dominic’s company and given that she sees his control issues from the get go, she starts to move out. He does not let her, he proceeds to spout B.S. to try to keep her there. While I thought Kate showed a palpable amount of resolve against his controlling ways, and she is really intelligent, but I also didn’t get why she had such an about face and desired him so much.

I had a hard time following the dialogues, and frankly the book bored me. I expected so much more development of the characters and scenarios themselves. And for the book to end on such a cliffhanger, was that entirely necessary?

I don’t know. At this point, I just wish that I could read more erotic authors who don’t follow the same template and do things that are different. I admire the shift to smart heroines who don’t put up with control freak personas, but at the same time – it isn’t enough. It isn’t enough when so many authors are doing the exact same thing and not distinguising their characters more apart from the formula.

Wish I really could’ve enjoyed this more than I did, but it disappointed me greatly.

Overall score: 1/5 stars.

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley from the publisher Forever.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

