The Department of MagicThe Department of Magic by Rod Kierkegaard Jr.
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Yeah, the review’s going to be short and sweet for this.

I didn’t like “The Department of Magic,” point blank. The story seems like it would be interesting on the level of an Urban Fantasy/Paranormal measure, and I actually did like that it took some of its details from different mythos, with a bit of romance between, but it doesn’t live up to the promise of its blurb. Especially not on the level of the racial and sexist assertions (what with the main female character being Persian-American, a former beauty queen, and assumptions made on her name alone as well as being scanned at the airport just because the officials were a group of perverts, while the White male character passed through without a second thought), not for the very flat characterizations, not even for the fact that the writing was unnecessarily wordy, convoluted, and riddled with errors. After a time, I just got bored and the story went through one ear, and out the other.

The story revolves around two government agents who are a part of a secret division (Department of Magic) and witness their new boss murdered in front of them. So they skip around trying to find out who killed the guy and end up falling in love with each other. But I had a hard time caring about the scenario, characters and overarching journey because of the level of assumptions on characters who weren’t white or who were insinuated as gay left and right, among other measures.

I’m not going to say that the narrative didn’t have some interesting ideas though – what with presenting different mythos and attempting to weave it with the plot, but it felt like reading a large infodump instead of blending naturally with the case details and findings. In the end, I was never really immersed in the story and the way it turned with certain details and characters just threw me out of the story.

Overall, just not my cuppa.

Overall score: 1/5 stars.

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher.

View all my reviews

