Wrede on Writing: Tips, Hints, and Opinions on WritingWrede on Writing: Tips, Hints, and Opinions on Writing by Patricia C. Wrede
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Invaluable resource on writing from Patricia C. Wrede. She approaches writing in a very practical, reflective progression that I’ll admit inspired me as I read through the narrative. She doesn’t give you exercises to do (not being a fan of the method personally), but rather she gives short talking points per section on things that are pertinent to the writing life. It flows very well, is easy to understand and follow while being encouraging to the writer perusing the work.

The book is organized into three sections: “Getting Started”, “Not So Basics”, and “The Business Side”.

I think this is the kind of writing guide that could be perused either by the novice or the veteran writer. Some sections, like the “Getting Started” part, will be more useful to the former, but there are aspects that writers of any level of expertise can take when working on their projects. I will certainly frequent this as a guide in my own writing pursuits.

Overall score: 5/5 stars

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Diversion Books.

View all my reviews

