Review: Taylor Swift: Platinum Edition by Liv Spencer

Taylor Swift: The Unofficial Story: Platinum EditionTaylor Swift: The Unofficial Story: Platinum Edition by Liv Spencer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Pre-read: I’m laughing a little because I’m thinking about riding along with my family a while back and overheard my father (who has quite an eclectic taste in music) singing along to “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together.” I couldn’t stop laughing for a good while. He’s like “What? It’s stuck in my head.”

And now I’m going to have that song stuck in my head for the rest of the day after typing this. Gah. XD

Full review:

I thought this was a decent biography of Taylor Swift, and I’ll admit as someone who wasn’t familiar with her respective history from the beginning, this was an enlightening read. I have a respect for her career and respective successes in the industry, as well as her collective artistry. “Taylor Swift: The Unofficial Story: Platinum Edition” compiles photos, previous tour dates and set info, discography with song background notes, a comprehensive timeline of Taylor’s respective career and accomplishments, and personal notes with collaborators, contributors, mentors, and those who were important figures in her career. There are more than a fair amount of full-color photos of Taylor in various performances, with country superstars, and from her youth. If I can critique this collection on one thing, however, it feels a bit at arms length for all the information that it presents. I thought it would be a little more dynamic and immersive than it was. I can’t complain about the depth of the information provided here, though. If you’re not familiar with Swift’s respective works, inspirations, and history, this is a good resource to peruse.

Overall score: 3.5/5 stars

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher ECW Press.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

