Charlotte: Prowling for EnchantmentCharlotte: Prowling for Enchantment by Mima
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a quick read, so I’ll give it a quick review. I’ve read “choose your own adventure” type steamy erotic romance books before, the more recent one being from Christine D’Abo. “Charlotte: Prowling for Enchantment” provided a much different experience than I was expecting. Eleven different endings, a supernatural leaning, and steamy, steamy scenes. But interestingly enough, they weren’t all happy endings and that surprised me.

Charlotte’s on a cruise and has the affections of two different guys – Ryder and Ivor. Depending on the routes you take, you’ll discover what exactly they are and the role that Charlotte herself has not just in her relations with them, but why she’s even on this cruise to begin with. Depending on how far you go with them, it might end up in love or tragedy. The storylines on an overarching note were hit and miss with me, some were a far, far miss and I ended up rolling my eyes from the measure, but jumped right back in to try it over. The very first ending I got was the Black one, and then I ended up getting Diamond the second time around, and just followed through them until I ended up getting through all of them.

On the level of Mima’s writing, it’s engaging, sometimes a little staggered. Some of the scenes were steamy, but others I’ll admit were silly and a little too much in the flair of the dramatic. The better routes I was more forgiving of. I didn’t expect too much character development given this is pretty much a CYOA and there’s a limit to how much you can do in certain routes for a game book, but somehow – I did feel like there were things missing that could’ve made the experience fuller than what it was.

Still, not a bad experience for me and I’d read more of Mima’s work in the future. I like CYOA type books, even in the scheme of romance, so this is a genre I’d pick up more, and I think I’d have to explore more of Mima’s style to get a handle on her narratives.

Overall score: 2.5/5 stars

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Pocket/Gallery Books.

View all my reviews

