I'm Not Crazy, I'm Just Not You: The Real Meaning of the 16 Personality TypesI’m Not Crazy, I’m Just Not You: The Real Meaning of the 16 Personality Types by Roger R. Pearman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Quick review for a very complex, informative read. I don’t know if I can do justice to reflecting about this text in terms of the amount of information it has on personality type based on the MBTI standard, but it’s very helpful, especially from a research/scientific standpoint in psychological and sociological standards.

I wouldn’t say that “I’m Not Crazy, I’m Just Not You” is the best text for introduction for a lay audience – because it’s more of an academic text and vetted examination of MBTI. In a sense, that’s both a pro and con – a virtue because it’s well researched and compiles the data and expansions in table forms and reflective formats on each component of the personality type, but the vice is that it becomes a bit too weighted in its respective arguments. I thought this book started out with much intrigue and steam when it identified each of the components of the MBTI and what characteristics, strengths, weaknesses, and interaction components that each of the combinations had. The tables were great summations of each type, but there were also thorough expansions on what each of these components meant and examples in the workplace and lifestyles to how they came into play. The more practical applications to daily life came in the latter sections, and I appreciated the expansions.

This isn’t the kind of book one can read in one sitting, and I’ll admit it took me a while to go through in terms of digesting all it had to offer, but it’s certainly one I’d recommend as a go-to text on MBTI, and I see myself revisiting the information not just for information on my particular type (INTJ), but also understanding other people who may have a different type than me. Of course, we are all more than just a specific type as we function as people with various sets of experiences, goals and desires, but it does help to understand why some people think the way they do and be able to understand what processes they may use in their thinking and ideologies.

Overall score: 4/5 stars.

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher.

View all my reviews

