Resists MeResists Me by Megan Hart
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Another quick review for a quick read. This second installation in Megan Hart’s series “Every Part of You” follows Simone and Elliot further through their rather…complicated relationship. There so many more scenes of intimacy/sexy times in this one than the last, and it makes more clear that the relationship is going towards the route of BDSM.

I’ll admit I’m reading through this with a filter because this is not the kind of read I typically follow, but I’m fascinated with watching the banter and dialogue between Simone and Elliot. Their personalities are strongly asserted and they’re intriguing to watch in their interactions and developing relationship (however complicated it may be). Sadly, there’s still a level of character background development that feels absent, and that might be because this is in a serial format and more in an episodic leaning. I try to ease myself into this thinking like I’m watching the episodes of a TV show, and that helps the transition. So far, I have to give credit to Hart in that she does a great job of pulling me into the story and allowing me to see the perspectives of both characters in the moment. This is something that a lot of serial romance/erotic writings I’ve picked up don’t do, so I’m still holding interest in this respective series to see where it leads.

If there’s one thing that I like also about this series – it ends on a note of intrigue, but not a cruel unexpected cliffhanger like other narratives I’ve read. So, definitely among the stronger offerings of its genre and presentation I’ve come across.

Overall score: 3/5 stars

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher St. Martin’s Press.

View all my reviews

