Review: The Mighty Storm by Samantha Towle

The Mighty StormThe Mighty Storm by Samantha Towle
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Initial reactions: Forgot to mention that I read this a while ago, but overarching impressions – the heroine ruined this read for me. Probably one of the most insufferable narrators (not talking about the audio reader – she did well for the material she was given) I’ve come across in the genre. Oy vey. Review to come when I can get my thoughts together about it.

Full review:

So I listened to the audiobook of this work, and I’m just going to do a quick review of it because there really isn’t much for me to say other than the experience of reading this wasn’t made painful by the audiobook reader (Justine Eyre, who I actually like as a narrator), but rather the nails-on-chalkboard prose. Honestly, I probably would not have made it if I’d read this in physical form first. Trudy is such an insufferable, repetitive, self-indulgent and completely unaware narrator.

Jake Whethers is a mega rockstar and lead singer in the band “The Mighty Storm.” He’s also a bad-boy extraordinaire with a number of women on his arm and antics on stage following the death of a close bandmate. Enter Trudy (Tru), a music writer for a fashion magazine. She happened to grow up with Jake and was his best friend for a time. The two meet for an interview and reconnect, hitting it off. But Tru is currently involved in a relationship with her long time boyfriend Will, and that complicates things as Tru is asked to be the band’s biographer.

You can kind of guess what happens after that.

This book was so long and meandering that I’m surprised that I was able to get through it. I couldn’t get behind Tru’s narration at all – it’s repetitive (there’s way too many uses of interjections and self-affirmations/denials in this narrative) and sparse for very little reason at all. I didn’t feel like this book did very well with the intimacy between the musical theme and the overarching love story. The petty dramas were drawn out for a wide expanse in the narrative, starting with a cheating scenario with Trudy and Jake against Will, fall out with that, and then when Jake and Trudy are together, drug use, sex, and other factors put a strain on their relationship. Jake isn’t a character I railed against *that* much for the work because I somewhat predicted he’d go that route, but Trudy’s actions often didn’t make much sense and was either very slow on the uptake to draw conclusions (i.e. coming to terms with her feelings for Jake, so much that it was insufferable) or very quick to make assumptions (that she dismissed Jake very quickly and got angry at the drop of a hat for minor things, but major things took her longer to come to terms with).

I just didn’t enjoy the story at all. It was fairly predictable and I didn’t feel that much investment with it. I did like some of the descriptions of the side characters and their personalities, as well as some of the environments for reference, but again – the narrative in Trudy’s perspective was so indulgent and meandering, it shortchanged what could’ve otherwise been a decent (if not very formulaic) story. It went on for far too long and in the end, it’s not the kind of narrative I would pick up again for the experience.

Overall score: 1/5 stars.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

