Review: Write-A-Thon: Write Your Book in 26 Days

Write-A-Thon: Write Your Book in 26 DaysWrite-A-Thon: Write Your Book in 26 Days by Rochelle Melander
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Rochelle Melander’s “Write A Thon” is one of those books that I think is in general a great coaching and motivational guide to writing. It takes a psychological based approach to writing in that it examines barriers to the writer for why they are not as productive as they’d like to be, and addresses ways of moving past the blocks that may occur when writing a book.

Upon my first read of it, I lamented the fact that it’s not really a sequential day-by-day approach to writing a novel like other guides that I’ve picked up (i.e. those in the 30-90 day spectrum, with exercises to boot), but then I realized it had a very different approach with respect to being a writing guide in general. The first section breaks down training to write a novel based on attitude/approach. Identifying what and why you wish to write, visioning the process, making plans to prepare yourself for the process. Then it breaks down the writing process as far as how to prepare yourself in outlining, creating the plot, characters, and identifying preparing for writing either fiction or non-fiction. Then it outlines planning a schedule and providing touches of motivation along the way, and rounding out the process with revision and finding an editor.

I only give it three stars because while I found it to be very helpful in terms of motivation and keeping the process going when writing a novel, I didn’t really find it helped me with specific anecdotes to the writing process itself. It’s still a good resource, but not one of my go-to-titles for writing reference. More for a motivator when I need it.

Overall score: 3/5 stars.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

