Review: Fodor’s Argentina: with Wine Country and Chilean Patagonia

Fodor's Argentina: with Wine Country and Chilean PatagoniaFodor’s Argentina: with Wine Country and Chilean Patagonia by Fodor’s Travel Publications Inc.
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Initial reaction: This guide was everything I needed and wanted to discover with respect to learning about Argentina – not just the brief snippets of the country’s history, but also enlightening about the culture, the suggested places to visit, the history, and even the full color photos and displays of the landscape, places, and suggested landmarks.

I’ll go into more detail about why I read this and what I was able to take from it in my full review.

Full review:

I read this book last year when researching the landmarks for one of my WIP novels which takes place in Argentina. I’ll admit that I didn’t really know what to expect picking the guide up, but I heard Fodor’s was one of the best travel guides to peruse, so I checked it out from the library.

I was impressed with the amount of information that was provided in the guide as well as how it was organized. There was a brief timeline of Argentina’s history on an overarching note in the beginning, complete with full color pictures and a breakdown of pertinent details as far as that went. Then it organized information by region and pointed out some of the businesses, landmarks, travel agencies, places of interest (I’ll admit I looked up bookstores, there’s the big theater one that’s in Buenos Aires that I’d love to visit).

I’ll admit that I wish it had a little more information on specific cities and regions and population information that could’ve been a little more detailed, but it was a great resource. The pictures were absolutely stunning. Bonus for including Chilean Patagonia as well in addition to the region in Argentina.

Overall score: 4.5/5 stars

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

