The Hidden Agenda: A Proven Way to Win Business and Create a FollowingThe Hidden Agenda: A Proven Way to Win Business and Create a Following by Kevin Allen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Short and sweet review for an inspiring and thorough read. Kevin Allen is the pitchman for the MasterCard slogan “Priceless” and pens this book not just for those in the realm of business, but also for a general audience in order to help them sell a target audience on the idea, product, or service provided.

“The Hidden Agenda” refers to hooking someone by their desires and motivations, which are generally “hidden” from the person making the pitch. Allen suggests that if you can hook someone by identifying the who, what, and how to draw them in to the pitch you’re making, you can successfully bring them into what you’re pitching to them. I thought it was a book that was very well organized and easy to understand.

I like the fact that he thoroughly defines the “hidden agenda” from the get go, using his own experiences at MasterCard as well as how he was introduced to the concept of a “hidden agenda” through a business colleague.

I’ve previously learned about assessing “wants, needs, and values” through some of my sport marketing classes, so much of this stuff was a cakewalk for review in my own perspective, but I think Allen does a great job with breaking things down so that anyone can understand the principles and how to use them to meet not only their client’s/audience’s needs, but also their own when it comes to making a successful pitch. It’s one I would recommend, as it is a thorough, informative, and insightful guide.

Overall score: 4/5 stars.

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher.

View all my reviews

