Review: Fall into Forever by Beth Hyland

Initial reaction: I need a little bit of time to reflect on this because I’m not sure what to rate it. The story had a really hard time hooking me because it’s full of cliche after cliche and I really didn’t identify with the leads to start. It gets a little more tolerable as the story moves along, but I don’t think that makes up for how difficult it was to get into. Somewhere between 1 and 2 stars, and I’ll decide that when I up the final review.

Full review:

Okay, I’ll bite, this gets 1.5 stars from me. To be honest, I was not captivated by Beth Hyland’s “Fall into Forever.” Whenever I read New Adult books, it seems like when I pick up a romance title it falls into one of two camps: either there’s so much going on in the way of melodrama that it has my blood pressure rising from frustration at the characters and scenarios, or I couldn’t give two cents about the characters and nothing seems to be going on despite the purported scenarios. This book fell into the latter category. It started on an interesting note when Ivy’s trying to scale a roof to get away from someone at a party, but then the dragged like no-one’s business. I struggled through this book. I didn’t really like Jon’s character either because he’s the typical abrasive bad boy with family issues, but somehow ends up instaloving the heroine and I’m supposed to buy their relationship while discovering that Ivy’s running from a past that was both tragic and abusive. It’s the same script, different cast type of story, only I couldn’t really identify with either character because it seemed like they were both lacking in the identity department. Very stilted presentation on behalf of both characterizations.

There were a few quirks and references in here that I recognized, but that didn’t help the narrative for structure or pacing as far as I was concerned. I just couldn’t feel the depth of events here and largely I was bored for the larger part of the narrative. The story attempts to come together in the end for events and I saw it happening, but found it very hard to care. It just didn’t connect with me in terms of intimacy and I found it really unfortunate because the overarching story (for events, in any case) had potential and promise.

I’ll read another of Beth Hyland’s works, but this really didn’t work for me.

Overall score: 1.5/5 stars

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher.

Leave a Reply

