This is just a sample copy of “An Ember in the Ashes” that I received from NetGalley (and as a promo I picked up at Barnes and Noble – they had them in a display that I picked up. It was actually rather nice for them to present it in a little booklet form.)

So basically, this is a showcase of the first chapter of the work and it held my attention from beginning to the point where it concluded. It’s dual perspectives that show an overarching conflict in a brutal dystopian society. I was somewhat surprised by the graphic violence and notation of rape – it doesn’t pull punches. The narrative was easy to move through, and the perspectives of the characters palpable even if it’s not clear what type of society they’re in exactly. I’m intrigued enough to continue, and I would rate the first chapter probably around 3.5 stars.

