Review: Fall to You (Here and Now #2) by Lexi Ryan

Initial reaction: I don’t know what to think about this series still. More formulaic than the first book, but at least I got to know Max and Nate a little more in this book than the last, and it kept me reading. It backtracks to the timeline before Hannah’s memory loss, so I was glad for the answers.

But I didn’t like the switching of POVs that much, the sensual scenes overtook the potential development of the story, and I felt like reading this dragged me through the mud too much. Still thinking about the rating on this one, but it’ll likely be 1.5 -2 stars. I’ll finish out the series, though.

Full review:

“Fall to You” did keep me reading, but what made me angry is that it falls right into the typical, cliche NA storyline with heavy melodrama. Too much of this book was hampered down by superfluous sex scenes that made the read longer than it should’ve, plus so much headhopping that the pacing slowed to a crawl. But I’ll admit I appreciate Lexi Ryan’s writing and attention to the character emotions.

To make this a short review, this book answered questions that were lingering in “Lost in Me” – including a contradiction in the last book’s ending that just turned out to be misinformation/a product of lying (a cheap trick from a narrative standpoint, but I ran with it, nonetheless). Hannah backtracks through her past up until the five days before she had her accident. Much of it had to do with her body insecurities and emotional challenges which led her between relationships with Max and Nate. Max and Nate felt less cardboard in construction in this novel, that much I appreciated. I felt like I got to know them more as the narrative went on, for their own insecurities and their affections for Hannah, but they’re equally as flawed, and all of them I could say provided a fair amount of frustration for me as I read this.

I wasn’t a big fan of the constant headhopping the narrative did with Nate and Max. Most of the time, their perspectives were to accomodate the different POVs of sex scenes, which I didn’t like because it was unnecessary and took away from the pacing of the story. However, their POVs did help when it came to dealing with their barriers to having a full relationship with Hanna (Max and his relationship with Meredith, while Nate had his own insecurities and his distant relationship with his own family.) There were parts of the narrative I connected with, while others repelled me for the melodrama.

I did not like a certain revelation that was handed down regarding Nate. If it were more permanent and less like a narrative device for melodrama, I could’ve bought it for real, but it was just a clear motivation to make this series into a trilogy. For the drawn out narration, head-hopping, and melodrama, this gets 1.5 stars from me, but I”m still going to finish out the series. I want to know how this series ends, but I’m honestly not expecting it to deviate from the New Adult formula. It’s a shame, because while this story had a complicated form in its trading, it wasn’t necessarily complex, and I think delving into that complexity (in the relationships, the emotions, the character backgrounds) could’ve made this much better read, and Ryan had moments of that in this narrative that just weren’t realized enough.

Overall score: 1.5/5 stars/

Leave a Reply

