Fit Friday – Review: The Hoarder in You by Dr. Robin Zasio

Hi all, my first Fit Friday selection in quite a while, which focuses on a number of different resources for health, wellness, self-improvement and other themed non-fiction reads that I come across.  This week’s entry is for a book I read back in 2013 and has to do with personal organization with a bit more expanded factors.  I know many people know of the show “Hoarders” and may know Dr. Robin Zasio, but this particular audiobook was a good resource for me not only in terms of personal organization, but also getting into some of the psychological factors that come with it.

Initial reaction: I picked this up from my library as a random read on organization, and this turned out to be a nice resource in the realm of organization and clearing clutter on a psychological level. It addresses both cluttered lifestyles and hoarding, and Dr. Robin Zasio, psychologist on the series “Hoarders,” approaches the topic with a myriad of stories, helpful tips, and analysis of such problems on a psychological level. I really appreciated that this book takes on the topic on a level of organizational approaches as well as mental/emotional examinations.

Full review:

This was a book I picked up a long while ago to search for resources on organization, clutter, and self-improvement. When I initially came across it at my local library, given that I’d seen marathons of the show “Hoarders,” I jumped at the chance to read it, even if I wouldn’t necessarily call myself a ‘hoarder.” (Rather, I’m more of just a person who looks for different methodologies on organization, and sometimes I incorporate those strategies if it somehow makes me more efficient.) I’ll admit, however, there were too many things that I did hold onto when I was younger for fear that I would need them at *some* point in my life when really I only had use for them once or twice.

Cassandra Campbell does a fine job of narrating the audiobook. This book not only goes into Zasio’s own experiences with some of the more extreme examples of hoarding she’s seen in her work (illustrating stories of her clients to make their transformations all that more vivid), but she offers advice to those who are hoarders and non-hoarders about the emotional attachments we make towards our possessions, and how to practically approach organization in a way that mentally and physically clears clutter. It also illustrates, to an extent, how clutter plays into anxiety, which is important for understanding the heart of how hoarding develops (because it’s not just physical disorganization, it has factors in what we think and feel).

I definitely would recommend this as an addition to a library for anyone who values literature on organizational systems and self-improvement. It was a valuable read and one I’d readily return to as a resource.

Overall score: 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

