Initial reaction: Practical organizational (with a somewhat religious leaning) guide that I picked up as a galley a long, long time ago (meaning I’ve had this galley since 2012 – yikes). I liked Lipp’s easy to understand discussions and suggestions. Probably rating around 3.5 stars overall.

Full review:

Quick review for a quick read. At the time I’m writing this review, it’s the point when the new year’s rolling around and goal-setting/habit-changing might be on the minds of many people. I’m no stranger to organizational and personal productivity books – I’ve perused them on my own as well as gotten suggestions and approval for galleys via NetGalley.

So why is it that I find myself picking up a read that dates back from 2012? I’m actually disappointed that I totally overlooked this one when combing back through my NetGalley approvals (this was still on my Kindle app, believe it or not). For the most part, it was a fun read – maybe a little heavy on the humor in places, but nonetheless practical and feasible to follow. Kathi Lipp gives a combination of organization suggestions and personal/faith based anecdotes to organization in “The Get Yourself Organized Project”. I personally found myself perusing through some of the suggestions and applying them to see how well they worked for me (something I usually try whenever I pick up books like this).

Some of the dialogue didn’t apply to me personally (don’t have kids yet), but it was good to keep in mind when I’m keeping spaces well in other environments. I though the faith-based (Christian) dialogue was light and accomodating for the most part. Also, some of the practical applications (STEM for Space, Time, Energy and Money) and approaches carried over well with each section of the home and lifestyle projects Lipp addresses.

I found that for me, this works as an additional reference to some organizational guides (rather than standing alone). It was worth the time reading, and I’ll likely come back to it because of certain ideas Lipp promotes. It’s billed as a organizational guide with a more casual approach/for people who aren’t so focused on particular processes as much as results with faith based leanings (and personal anecdotes), so that’s something to keep in mind for people who are interested in picking this up to see if it’s right for you.

Overall score: 3.5/5 stars

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Harvest House Publishers.

