Quick review for a quick read. Emiko Jean’s “We’ll Never Be Apart” was a much faster read for me than I expected. I read it in one sitting and found myself, for the most part, entertained by a twisted tale of twins confined in a mental facility. (Usually when a blurb mentions twins in any capacity, I’m pretty much sold.)

It tells the story of Alice and Celia, following the aftermath of a horrible event that ended up in the death of a friend. But Alice struggles to remember all that happened that fateful night, having to walk through her and her sister’s dark history up to the present. This includes foster homes, her sister’s obsession with fire, several events that are quite dark to take in. I knew how this story would end very early on (and I won’t spoil it for any one who still wants to pick it up), but I think the journey was worth taking regardless.

I did like how the book ended up building the backstory with present events – the prose felt fluid and the motivations of the characters were on point for the quick read. Alice’s friendship with Chase and some of his humored anecdotes brought some needed relief from some of the narratives darker turns (the James Earl Jones reference brought a smile to my face, as did “Back to the Future.”) I think there were some moments where references were a bit at odds or didn’t really mesh in context well, but for the most part, I thought it was a decent read, certainly worth a couple of hours of suspense and Alice coming to terms with several reveals. Would I say this book is surprising? Nah, not really, but it has some interesting dark moments and places where it kept me on my toes as to how it would come across.

I’ll have to see what Jean comes with next.

Overall score: 3/5 stars.

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher.

