Review: This World We Live In (Last Survivors #3) by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Quick review for a quick read. Good news is that I read this in one sitting and it was a very quick, easy read to move through despite it being a while since I picked up the series. Bad news? I think this book didn’t hold up as well with me compared to the first two books. I always liked the theme for this particular series, and even the personal focus on its viewpoint characters. This book brings the POV back to Miranda and her family. I liked the first part of the book well enough, with Miranda, her mother and her brothers trying to carve out a living going fishing, scavaging the neighborhood looking for things to help them, even surviving on intermittent power – which brought something of a hope that things were getting better despite a few harrowing moments (i.e. Miranda’s mother taking a tumble).

However, I felt as the narrative went onward – focusing more on insta-relationships and generally showing the worst in the character personalities – it ended up losing me. Between Miranda’s brother marrying Syl (though I liked her character in spurts) and Miranda declaring her love for Alex when he ends up meeting her in a crossing of paths set up by the first and second books, I didn’t like how fast or how strong it set itself up for context. Sure, I know this is an end-of-the-world scenario, but it was way, way too breakneck in pace and dictated in emotions for me to really believe it. Miranda feels far too naive for me to believe in any potential growth she might’ve had between the first book and this one. Alex’s character really got shortchanged by this book, I felt. While I could really see his plight in the second book and his dedication to his sister Julie, this book reduced Alex to playing second fiddle to Miranda as chiefly the LI. I think it was just a downward progression for all of the characters, and I didn’t much like the change. I liked Julie and a few other characters, though there are a number of characters that ended up meeting tragic fates, leading to another potential journey for survival.

There’s one more book in this series, but it’s hard for me to gather the motivation to try it, just to see how the series ends. I’m disappointed with the overall execution and progression of this book, though it had some decent moments.

Overall score: 2/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

