Review: Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica

Title: Don’t You Cry
Author: Mary Kubica
Genre: Adult Fiction, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Publisher: Harlequin Mira

Quick review for a somewhat quick read. It’s usually a bad sign after I finish a book like this and feel like I don’t have much to say about it one way or the other. Usually if I’m upset or disappointed by a book, I can talk about what made it strike the wrong way for me. And if I’m kicked hard in the gut by things that thrill me, I discuss that as well. Mary Kubica’s “Don’t You Cry” underwhelmed me on every level – drawn out for pacing and prose and not very memorable in terms of the overarching mystery. Think a less impactful version of “Single White Female”, though the villain is not necessarily who you think it might be and it ties two separate stories together in a single thread.

The twist to it I called very early on, and there are a lot of places with false suspense and slights of hand that are meant to divert your attention and make you question certain pieces of information, but to me I saw right through them and thought they padded the novel too thick rather than giving any meaningful suspense or thrills. A good part of it was even sheer conjecture and circumstance (like really, dude, you run into a random homeless person on the street and that makes you paranoid that your roommate might be trying to kill you? Oy vey.) For a little while in the beginning, it had me – I followed the parallel stories wondering where it would go. But then it dragged, and dragged, and dragged. It wasn’t very well written to me, overwrought with emotion and hampered prose in the places where the tension should’ve been highest. I’ve read even Japanese manga mysteries that manage to take longer to unravel and feel like a slow burn with keen eyes to the characters and their development, but the writing feels more genuine and invested. This narrative did not do that.

Also, this book is so full of plot holes that it’s hard to look past them and not question why weren’t they addressed or observed sooner. Hopefully the next Kubica novel can grab me, but honestly, it’s weaker than her other works.

Overall score: 2/5 stars.

Note: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher.

One comment

Leave a Reply

