Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Wish Were TV Shows

Hi all, Rose here with the Top Ten Tuesday entry of this week, as per The Broke and The Bookish.  Another entry this week that I have to stretch my brain a bit to consider, as it deals with TV themes to accommodate the very fast approaching Fall TV season.  Can you believe how fast this year has flown by?!

Random order, and just throwing some of my suggestions out as per some of the books I really enjoyed.

  1. His Dark Materials series by Phillip Pullman.  I’ve always wanted to see a more expanded series of one of my favorite book series as a child.  I did see the movie based on the first book, but I’ll admit it didn’t capture the magic despite casting one of the actresses I thought made perfect sense for the character (Nicole Kidman as Mrs. Coulter).  (And it seems like the BBC is granting that wish, thankfully. I can’t wait to see it.)
  2. The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan.  Honestly, it made more sense to me to adapt this book series for TV because there’s so much potential for it to grow and expand.  Apparently this is another possibility coming true because the CW picked it up instead of making the third movie to follow the other two films already made (but I honestly wish they’d just start it from the beginning and make it more faithful to the book adaptation.)
  3. The Darkest London series by Kristen Callihan.  You know what, if they can make Game of Thrones on HBO, I would love to see this dark, steamy adult reimaging of Victorian London with their swaggering heroes and smart ladies wielding magic and mayhem.  I would totally watch, no question.  Plus, who wouldn’t love a good mix of steampunk, fey, ghosts in the machine and elemental powers?
  4. Neuromancer by William Gibson: I’ve always been curious to see how William Gibson’s works would translate to a TV series or some sort of film media, and why not start with this as a possibility?  Even if it turned out to be a limited series (1 season) or a mini-series, I’d certainly watch.  And given I love cyberpunk and this being one of my favorite novels, it’d be essential watching for me as well.
  5. Partials series by Dan Wells: This series was an example of dystopian done well and I’d totally love to see it adapted for film/TV media.  And having a POC character (Kira) take the reins would be just plain awesome.
  6. The Newsflesh series by Mira Grant: The Newsflesh series is one among my favorites from Mira Grant – I honestly think it could definitely work in a TV format, if not limited run, then extended with all the angles it covers over a group of bloggers trying to (and being vital to) survive a zombie infestation.  I figure with the success of The Walking Dead and perhaps with the right cast of characters and direction, it could be very successful.
  7. The Summer Prince by Alaya Dawn Johnston: This might seem like an odd choice for me given that I honestly didn’t like the book that much, but I think with the kind of potential for the worldbuilding and expansion, this could be a great TV series.  And I wonder also if “The Summer Prince” would’ve fared better for me if it had been a series that had time to develop and maturely handle the presentation of its themes and characters.  (I’m still struggling to re-read this to see if my opinion changes on it.  So far, unfortunately, not so much.)
  8. Archetype duology by M.D. Waters.  I’ve really gotten into this series as of late and I think it would make a great transition to a TV series, whether limited run or extended.  Emma’s a great character to follow, and given the themes and world it explores it would be a great series to expand upon.
  9. Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown:  Really I have nothing more to say than this needs to happen.  THIS NEEDS TO HAPPEN, particularly with the strong worldbuilding and compelling characters in this series.
  10. The Reckoners series by Brandon Sanderson.  I would watch a series with evil superheroes and the people who take them down in this alternate universe any day.  Seriously.

That’s all for this entry.  Until next one, hope everyone has a wonderful week!

Cheers,

Rose

2 comments

  1. Hey! I absolutely agree with you on the Percy Jackson series becoming a tv show. I do wish the CW would start from the beginning because the movies did not do the books any justice (in my opinion). Also excited to see what becomes of the tv adaptation of the His Darkest Materials series. It’s going to be with BBC so I’ve already gotten my hopes up lol. Happy Reading (and future watching)!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t wait to see what they do with The Golden Compass. BBC has a pretty good record with their dramas, but I wasn’t a fan of their last fantasy book adaptation of Johnathan Strange and Mr. Norell. I guess we’ll see next year!

    Neuromancer would be amazing to see, though I worry it would go the way of Dune. (Because, come on, all the Dune movies were terrible. The SyFy mini-series, Children of Dune, was a bit more decent, but still.) Then again, Neuromancer has a more straightforward adventure plot, so maybe it could work as a movie or show…Plus, we’d get to see Molly brought to life!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

