Quick review for a progressive read. I think this was my favorite book in the series for the sheer measure of growth between Arin and Kestrel’s characters. I really liked the fact that the two, despite having haphazard moments and awkward exchanges, ended up delivering in the scheme of an epic war in a series of very tense, stakes-high battles. The battles were both on the playing field (the Bite & Sting game parallel was a nice touch) as well as on the war grounds. It felt satisfying to see the character’s motivations in battle but also – albeit gradually – to each other. On the flip side, so much happened that I felt parts of the weight of the book sag more than it should’ve for flow – it simply took too long in certain scenes for the main conflict to be brought back into focus, yet once it got past those sluggish points, I had little problem with the narrative as a whole for painting the story it chose to tell. The ending paid off so nicely, far more than I expected.

Oh, and Roshar might be my favorite character of this overarching series. His character really shined through and his humored demeanor alongside his aides in key scenes complimented the scenes with Arin and Kestrel very nicely. Overall, I enjoyed this novel, and found this series well worth following even with a few stumbles in tow.

Overall score: 4/5 stars.

